Uganda defeated Nepal by six wickets to take a 3-0 lead in the five-match Women’s T20I Series here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, Nepal posted 99-8 in their allotted 20 overs before the tourists reached 101-4 with 10 balls to spare.Uganda took an unassailable 3-0 lead with two matches remaining.

The fourth match is on Thursday and the two sides will play their fifth and final match on Friday.

Opener Jyoti Pandey fought a lonely battle as wickets tumbled from the other end at regular interval. Nepal lost Bindu Rawal (four) with just four runs on the board before Pandey and Sita Rana Magar (12) added 28 runs for the second wicket in the highest partnership of the innings.

Pandey and skipper Rubina Chhetry shared a 24- run partnership for the sixth wicket to give some respectability to the team total.

Pandey top scored with 47 off 54 balls with the help of five boundaries, while Chhetry remained unbeaten on 15-ball 18 that included two fours. Phiona Kulme, Concy Aweko and Sarah Akiteng took two wickets each for Uganda, while Janet Mbabazi and Rita Musamali grabbed one apiece.

In reply, opener Kevin Awino and Jenet Mbabazi guided the team to victory. They shared a 67-run partnership for the second wicket after Leona Babirye was dismissed in the third over.

Awino remained unbeaten on 42 off 51 balls hitting four boundaries, while Mbabazi struck one each four and six in her 39-ball 27. Kabita Kunwar took 2-22 for Nepal, while skipper Chhetry and her deputy Indu Berma grabbed one wicket each.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 20, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.